Unsent #1

It was a slow

love

A yearning that grew

through the years

 

A slow falling

of emotions

An entanglement of

vines

of roots

of soft splittered

glass debris

washed up to the shore

and polished

to be as one

as the sea

 

It was the slow

and steady

breathing of the universe

 

It was the silence

and unexpected reunion

and falling,

all over again –

 

It was

you

and

me

in a

cliche

 

It was

you

and

me

fighting

making up

fighting

questioning

not sleeping

talking

holding hands

breathing

 

It was you

holding back

not trusting

it was me

doing the same

 

Rinse repeat

 

It was me

letting go

It was you agreeing

 

It was us

missing each other

 

It was me

and a current decision.

 

(e.j., 2014)

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Unsent #1

Leave a comment